Having one’s wisdom teeth removed is like traveling to another world. You sit in a chair, receive a little shot, breathe in some special gas and when you return, your whole life is changed.

As a result of lack of teeth – I must make a little menu for myself (and anyone else out there who’s starving from the new lack of a couple of wisdom teeth). In French, a wisdom tooth is are called “un/une dent de sagesse”. Can I say “les dents de sagesse” then? I had mine taken on this past morning at 7am, and already ate some shredded chicken pieces because I was so fed up with soup.

Here’s my menu:

Appetizer
Steamed egg with chopped onions, cooled or luke warm in a bowl
Soft boiled deviled eggs with some cream cheese and seasoning
Chicken noodle soup
Seasoned, soft boiled or steamed veggies (carrots, broccoli, potatoes)

Main Course:
Buttered mashed (sweet?) potatoes and gravy with shredded chicken pieces
Pasta salad (Mac n Cheese or Fancy Mac)
Softly scrambled eggs and tomatoes over soft pasta
Scrambled eggs with cheese (and soft sweet Hawaiian bread)
Softly toasted white bread with hummus and toasted soft red peppers
Seasoned Baked Squash
Cumin Chicken legs, shredded (just add cumin and seasoning)
Garlic chicken wings with well cooked garlic cloves.
Tofu and gravy dishes (Mapo tofu without the spiciness!)
Ground beef taco center with softly toasted white bread or potato bread.
Soft boiled tea eggs
Salmon or salmon head soup ( no bones!)
Smoked salmon and Penne Alfredo
Jook of choice with no chunks
Polenta and beef stew with tender chicken or soft carrots
Creamy Chicken Campbell Soup
Clam Chowder in a Bread Bowl (eating only the softened bread)
Creamed spinach and egg salad
Soft egg with guacamole
Miso Soup
V8 on the rocks (to spoon) or tomato soup
Mild lentil curry on rice porridge (beware not to lodge anything in your incisions)
Tuna salad sans celery, on soft bread.
Soft veggie burger
Pate and fresh tomatoes
If you make soy milk, save the dried soy gregs and stirfry it with onions and chopped garlic.

Fruits and Dessert:
Sweet iced tofu soup
Pineapples and juice (Pineapples have a numbing effect with the presence of bromelain)
Yogurt with soft kiwi or apricot and sugar (without the seeds)
Yogurt with soft smooth peanut butter or Nutella
Mango smoothie
Milkshakes or smoothies of choice – pina colada sans alcool
Cheesecake
Finger jello: coconut, almond, grape
Ice Cream sans chunks
Gelato or Sorbetto sans seeds
Baked Apple (very soft), stuffed with preferred flavorings
Apple Sauce
Brie on Banana
Iced Black tea and cranberry juice (avoid the sauce, or anything with seeds like berries)

But in the end, it’s just “eat what’s at hand that makes you feel comfortable.”

As for me, I think my sedation was so odd. They froze my inner elbow in order to prick me, and then I felt sleepy within 10 seconds. It must have been a twilight sedation because I was semi-aware of the operation but didn’t care about it at all. The operation felt like it took 1 minute total, and my sense of time was completely gone. I only felt one sharp pressure at one time, but it wasn’t even painful or undesirable. I didn’t even care. I don’t even remember how I got from the dentist chair to the resting bed, even though I remember walking on groggy feet with my mom. It was really peaceful. I wasn’t even aware I had gauze in my cheeks.

I feel alright now, and the only pain is a slight buzzing from the top right (where I think I had an impacted horizontal). I am not taking any pain killers, and feel alright. I hope this stays this way. I don’t look like a chipmunk at all (although I suspect I do, thanks to the sensation in my gums from where they removed my right wisdom teeth). Overall, I feel happy that my wisdom teeth cannot bother me anymore or haunt my dreams with their crowding presence. I can’t help having a small mouth!

On a final note, I’m writing this entry at 5am because I have jet lag still, from my return in China. I’ve been up since 3am!

