My summer in Paris with Jean-Francois and Olivier at FoodCo is nearing the end.

A typical day of the week consists of waking up at around 7:30 in the morning, getting dressed and going to breakfast at at little after 8:00am. Then I walk to Denfert Rochereau station to catch the metro (RER B) towards St-Remy-Les-Chevreuse. Upon leaving the metro at Le Croix de Berny, I  take the TVM to Montjean where I work.

Once I arrive, I had my own table with a computer where I do my research and compilation of resources. Sometimes we would take trips to Rungis or a supplier. There are times when we have meetings or staff breakfast in the building too. At lunch, we always leave the office to either walk to our nearby Brasserie or the Belle Epine area where we eat at one of the restaurants.

Sometimes, when necessary I would call abroad to the offices of FDA and CBP when they first open their offices at 8:00 a.m. EST. Every week at some point in the afternoon, I would debrief a recent project to Jean-Francois and Olivier. At the end of the day, I leave at 5:00 p.m. and take the metro back home.

Before I finished with FoodCo, I finished a 32-page summary with table of contents for the research I’ve done this summer in addition to several powerpoints created to relay new information.

Jean-Francois and Olivier often guided me by giving me tips and advice on powerful presentations from their experience with working at Bain and Co, a top consulting firm in France. I also learned a lot about regular French products and various cultural differences from our conversations about France and the United States. Both Jean-Francois and Olivier have lived in the United States, so they were able to relate with me about many of the amusing differences and similarities between the cultures, their current events and specific habits of the French.

In order to show you more about Foodco, Olivier and Jean Francois will tell you what Foodco is all about in this video. And I have made a simple video at the office to share with you what I’ve learned.

