Anvers, Antwerp, Antwerpen…

Belgium

However you call it, I stopped by for a day in this French and Dutch speaking country to visit my friend Vincent before heading on to Amsterdam to meet Jing.

Vincent picked me up at the beautiful Anvers train station and we took a walk around the city at night after dropping off my luggage. He shared with me how Anvers really means “the hand” from the a story that Anvers was created from a hand of a giant that landed in the Schmeldts River.

Feeding the birds at Notre Dame before heading out to Belgium via Thalys

Feeding the birds at Notre Dame before heading out to Belgium via Thalys

The city itself is beautiful, their chocolate is good and their gaufres are famous. They are also known for their Belgian fries.

I just loved the buildings there!

I just loved the buildings there!

I mostly enjoyed my time looking at the Belgian architecture and musing over how wonderful life was to see the beauty of this world become more coherent and realistic one day at a time.

